Lily Awards | 2017


Sarah Jones was a recipient and host of the 8th Annual Lilly Awards, which celebrate the work of women in American theater. The event was held May 22, 2017 at Playwrights Horizons and honored many giants of the theatre including Julie Taymor, Mandy Greenfield, Micki Grant, and honorary Ms. Lilly, Stephen Schwarz!


There were too many highlights during the Lilly Awards, which honors women in the theatre, to name them all, but one was meeting an extraordinary group of Girl Scouts, and future playwrights, Troop 3484. They noticed that of the 23 statues of historical figures in Central Park not one of them was of a woman (unless you count fictional fairies). The troop has been working to build statues of America’s suffragists in Central Park, and they have finally been granted approval! Now they’re raising funds to commission the first non-fictional female statue in Central Park! Learn more here: #MonumentalWomen